Washington State Department of Financial Institutions

Washington State Division of Banks

The Division of Banks regulates Washington State-chartered commercial banks, stock savings banks, mutual savings banks, alien banks, savings and loan associations, and independent trust companies.

We charter new banks, business development corporations, trust companies, foreign banks, and savings and loan associations. Also, we authorize new branches and branch closures; and approve mergers and acquisitions. Learn more about the Division of Banks.

Questions or Problems with Your Bank?

Lists of Who We Charter and Regulate (Find an Institution)

Division of Banks News

Below you will find what's new from the Division of Banks.

[More News]

Letters and Resources

Help and Resources for Customers of Washington Banks

Contact Us

The Division of Banks business hours are 8 am - 5 pm (PST), Monday - Friday.

Mailing Address:
Department of Financial Institutions
Division of Banks
PO Box 41200
Olympia, WA 98504-1200

Phone Numbers:
Phone: 360-902-8704
Toll Free: (877) RING DFI (746-4334)
TDD: (360) 664-8126
Fax: (360) 704-6904

Email: banks@dfi.wa.gov

Hours: 8 AM - 5 PM PST (Monday - Friday)

* This document is a PDF file, and you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view it. If you don't already have Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, you may download it for free from Adobe.