Apply For A Washington
Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) License
- Washington’s Pre-Licensing Education requirement changed to 22 hours of PE including 4 hours in Washington law.
- Washington’s state specific test was retired. Applicants without the Washington test must pass the new Uniform State Test.
Follow these 3 steps to obtain a Washington MLO License
Complete the following items before you apply for a license
High School Diploma or Equivalent (GED):
All MLO applicants must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or equivalent. See WAC 208-660-350(1) or WAC 208-620-710 for alternative to the diploma.
Set up an account with NMLS:
All applications for a MLO license must be made through this computer system. For help, use these quick guides: NMLS Quick Guides
Complete 22 hours of Pre-Licensing Education (PE), including 4 hours in Washington law education information.
Meet one of the following three conditions:
- Pass both the National Test and Washington State Test*
- Pass both the National Test* and the Stand-alone Uniform State Test
- Pass the National Test with UST
- High School Diploma or Equivalent (GED):
After education and testing completion is posted in NMLS, apply for the license
The application fee is $155 including the $30 NMLS System Fee. See: Application Quick Guide (PDF)**
Criminal Background Check:
All new applications require a fingerprinting fee of $39 for Live Scan. If you are licensed in another state, you can use your prints already on file with NMLS. See: Fingerprinting Information.
All new applications require a credit report. The fee is $15. If you are licensed in another state and pulled a credit report within the past 30 days, this fee will not be charged. See: Credit Report Information.
Grant Access to Application:
If you are employed by a mortgage company, you must grant your employer access so they can submit a sponsorship request. You can obtain an inactive license is you do not yet have a sponsor. See: Granting Access Quick Guide (PDF)**.
- MLO Application:
- Send documents to DFI via fax or email
* The National Test and Washington State Test were retired effective March 31, 2013, but passing results are still valid for new applicants.
MLO Application Resources
- Loan Originator Application FAQs
- NMLS Getting Started Guide
- NMLS New Application Checklist for MLO License (PDF)**
If you have any questions about information on this webpage feel free to contact us by phone at (360) 902-8703 or toll free at 1-877 RING DFI (746-4334). You may also email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
** This document is a PDF file, and you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view it. If you don't already have Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, you may download it for free from Adobe.