Follow these steps to obtain a Washington MLO License
Complete the following items before you apply for a license
- Set up an account with NMLS
All applications for a MLO license must be made through this computer system. Be sure to list your full first, middle and last name as it appears on a passport or social security card. Create An Account Quick Guide
- Pre-Licensing Education
Complete 22 hours of Pre-Licensing Education (PE), including 4 hours in Washington Law. See: Education Information.
Meet one of the following three conditions:
- Pass both the National Test and Washington State Test*
- Pass both the National Test* and the Stand-alone Uniform State Test
- Pass the National Test with UST
After education and testing completion is posted in NMLS, apply for the
- MLO Application
The application fee is $155 including the $30 NMLS System Fee. Application Quick Guide
- Criminal Background Check
All new applications require fingerprinting through NMLS. Fingerprint Information.
- Credit Report
All new applications require a credit report through NMLS. Credit Report Information.
- Grant Access to Application
If you want an active MLO license, you must grant your employer access so they can submit a sponsorship request. Granting Access Quick Guide. You can get an inactive license if you do not have a sponsor.
Check Application for completeness
- MLO New Application Checklist
The checklist is a guide for application requirements and should not be provided to DFI. MLO New Application Checklist
* The National Test and Washington State Test were retired effective March 31, 2013, but passing results are still valid for new applicants.