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Subject: Payday Lending by Credit Unions  
  Division of Credit Unions Interpretive Letter I-05-06 
 
Issues: 

 
1. What fees may a credit union charge for a payday loan? 
 
2. Must a credit union be licensed as a payday lender to do unsecured, small loans 

that exceed the Washington State usury rate?    
 
3. May a credit union make payday loans to non-members?    
 
4. Is a license required when a credit union funds a loan, but a credit union service 

organization processes the loan and makes the loan approval decision? 
 
 
Background 
 
A “payday loan” refers to a type of short-term, high fee, unsecured loan that is typically 
offered to consumers by a business outlet offering check cashing services.  The business 
of check cashing and selling, as well as payday lending, is regulated by the Department 
of Financial Institutions (DFI) pursuant to the Check Cashers and Sellers Act (CCSA), 
Chapter 31.45 RCW. 
 
Credit unions have a long history of making small-dollar, short-term, unsecured loans to 
their members.  Recently, credit unions have become interested in offering their members 
payday loans as an alternative to traditional payday lenders.  Payday loans are generally 
considered a type of sub-prime lending and require prudent risk-management.   
 
In a typical payday loan transaction, the consumer writes the lender a post-dated check 
and, in return, the lender provides a lesser amount of cash to the consumer after 
subtracting fees.  At the end of the loan period, the consumer has the option of either 
redeeming the check by paying its face value to the lender, or allowing the lender to cash 



the check.  Most payday loans are for relatively short periods of time (from a week to a 
month).   
 
Payday lenders licensed under the CCSA may loan a maximum of $700 at one time, for a 
maximum term of 45 days, and fees cannot exceed 15% of the principal for amounts up 
to $500, and 10% of the principal for the amount lent over $500.  RCW 31.45.073.  The 
annual percentage rate resulting from a typical 15-day loan is 391%.  Washington State 
Department of Financial Institutions, Payday Lending Report, Statistics and Trends for 
2003, pp. 2, 5. 
 
Analysis 
 
1. What fees may a credit union charge for a payday loan? 
 

With a few exceptions, the maximum rate of interest that may be charged on a 
consumer loan under Washington’s usury law is the greater of 12% per year or 
4% above the first auction quote on the Federal Reserve’s 26-week treasury bills 
made in the month before the loan was made.  RCW 19.52.020(1). 
 
However, Washington State-chartered credit unions also have the ability to charge 
higher rates of interest under the “most favored lender” doctrine, now codified in 
Washington statutes, which allows Washington financial institutions to charge 
interest rates equal to the rate national banks may charge a Washington consumer.  
RCW 30.04.025, RCW 30.22.040(12), 12 USC 85.   
 
National banks in Oregon, Idaho, and 21 other jurisdictions have no ceiling on 
interest rates, and have the ability to export interest rates for multi-state 
operations.  Because of the most favored lender doctrine, financial institutions can 
charge interest rates as high as the market will bear. 

 
 
2. Must a credit union be licensed as a payday lender to make small, unsecured 

loans that exceed the Washington State usury rate?   
 

The Check Cashers and Sellers Act (CCSA), Chapter 31.45 RCW, governs the 
regulation of payday lenders.  Credit unions are exempt from the licensing 
requirements of the CCSA.  RCW 31.45.010(11), RCW 31.45.020(1)(a).  
Therefore, a credit union does not have to be licensed in order to make small, 
unsecured loans that exceed the Washington State usury rate. 

 
 
3. Can a credit union make “payday loans” to non-members?    
 

A credit union may make unsecured loans only to its members.  RCW 31.12.426, 
RCW 31.12.428, RCW 31.12.402.    The Washington State Credit Union Act does 
not allow credit unions to offer loans to non-members. 
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4. Is a license required when a credit union funds payday loans, but a credit 

union service organization (CUSO) processes the loans and makes loan 
approval decisions? 

 
Credit unions are exempt from the licensing requirements of the Check Cashers 
and Sellers Act.  In this model, because the credit union is funding the loan, we 
have concluded that the credit union is doing the actual lending, and thus no 
license is required.  RCW 31.45.010(11), RCW 31.45.020(1)(a). 

 
 
Conclusion 
 
Washington State-chartered credit unions do not have to be licensed under the CCSA in 
order to offer payday loans to their members.  In doing so, they may charge rates equal to 
those charged by national banks doing business in Washington.  Even if a CUSO is 
processing the payday loans and making loan approval decisions, so long as the credit 
union itself is funding the loans, no license is required. 
 
Payday lending can pose a variety of safety and soundness, compliance, fraud, and 
reputation risks to credit unions.  Credit unions should be aware of the risks associated 
with payday lending, and should seek legal counsel before embarking on a payday 
lending program.  The National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency 
(OCC) have issued advisory guidelines for institutions considering engaging in payday 
lending.  For further information, please see: 
 
NCUA Letter to Federal Credit Unions Number 01-FCU-03 at 
http://www.ncua.gov/letters/2001/01-FCU-03.pdf;  
 
OCC Advisory Letter on Payday Lending, AL 2000-10 at 
http://www.occ.treas.gov/efiles/disk1/advisory/2000-10.doc;  
 
FDIC publications Guidelines for Payday Lending at 
http://www.fdic.gov/regulations/safety/payday/;  
 
Advisory Committee on Banking Policy – Payday Lending at 
http://www.fdic.gov/about/learn/advisorycommittee/payday060204.html;  
 
An Update on Emerging Issues in Banking – Payday Lending at 
http://www.fdic.gov/bank/analytical/fyi/2003/012903fyi.html.  
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